



PETRON PLUS







DICK SIMON INDYCAR TEAM OWNER

▶ DURACELL-MOBIL 1, RAUL BOESEL DRIVER

DRIVER PROFILE

Raul de Mesquita Boesel (born 4 December 1957 in Curitiba, Brazil) is a former race driver who raced for the March and Ligier Formula One teams and later raced in Champ Car and the Indy Racing League.

He won the 1987 World Sportcar Championship and the 1988 24 Hour of Daytona. Thus, he took more successful results in sports car racing.

Although an outstanding participant in equestrian show jumping, he studied engineering, gave up his degree and went on to motor racing. He entered into first ever season of the Brazilian Stock Car Championship in 1979.

He moved to Britain in 1980 to race in Formula Ford 1600 and in 1981 entered Formula 3 and finished third in the championship. In November 1981 he tested for McLaren and entered the March team, only to switch in 1983 to Ligier. At the end of the year he went to the United States to race in CART.

In 1987 he switched to World Sportcar Championship with Jaguar and won the title with five victories. In 1988 he won the 24 24 Hour of Daytona in a Jaguar XJR-9, along with Martin Brundle and John Nielsen. That year he also returned to CART and finished third at Indianapolis in 1989. In 1991 he finished second in Le Mans 24 Hours with Jaguar and returned to CART, finishing fifth in the 1993 series, although never winning a race. He raced in CART until 1998, when he went to Indy Racing League. Because of this, he has multiple starts in the Indy 500. His last race in CART was at the 1999 Marlboro 500 at Fontana.

Autodromo International de Curitiba, a racing circuit in Curitiba, is officially nicknamed "Circuito Raul Boesel" (Raul Boesel circuit) in honour of his success in Europe.

Boesel retired his professional racing career in 2005 after returning to Stock Car Brasil though he competes in some races after his retiring.











Afterwards, he often comments about various racing categories. In 2007, he started a career as a disc jockey.

PETRON PLUSTM GLOBAL, INC.









Year	Chassis	Engine	Start	Finish	Team
<u>1985</u>	March	Cosworth	23rd	18th	Simon
<u>1986</u>	Lola	<u>Cosworth</u>	22nd	13th	Simon
<u>1988</u>	March	Cosworth	20th DURACELL	7th	Shierson
<u>1989</u>	Lola	Nuclei 9 Mooriii 6 8	9th	3rd	Shierson
<u>1990</u>	Lola	Judd	47th	28th	Truesports
<u>1992</u>	<u>Lola</u>	Chevrolet	27th	7th	Simon
<u>1993</u>	<u>Lola</u>	Ford-Cosworth	3rd	4th	Simon
<u>1994</u>	<u>Lola</u>	Ford-Cosworth	2nd	21st	Simon
<u>1995</u>	Lola	<u>Ilmor</u> - <u>Mercedes-Benz</u>	22nd	20th	Rahal/Hogan
<u>1998</u>	G-Force	<u>Oldsmobile</u>	30th	19th	<u>McCormack</u>
<u>1999</u>	Riley & Scott	Oldsmobile	33rd	12th	Brant
<u>2000</u>	G-Force	<u>Oldsmobile</u>	24th	16th	Treadway
2001	G-Force	Oldsmobile	31st	Raced by <u>Felipe Giaffone</u>	<u>Treadway</u>
<u>2002</u>	<u>Dallara</u>	Chevrolet	3rd	21st	<u>Menard</u>